The UCSF Campaign Alumni Awards

The Audacious. The Innovators. The Compassionate. The Dedicated. The Pathfinders. 

Throughout UCSF: The Campaign, the Alumni Association of UCSF (AAUCSF) will highlight the outstanding work of UCSF's most illustrious degreed and non-degreed alumni with an exciting new series of awards.

At each of the Alumni Weekend celebrations that occur during the Campaign, the AAUCSF will recognize three living alumni in each of the following award categories. 

Winners will be selected based on their distinguished service in research and/or education, transforming care delivery, or improving access in order to advance health equity.

  • The Audacious: This award recognizes those who have achieved a singular, remarkable accomplishment by setting a vision so impactful that others might have doubted it could be done.
  • The Innovators: This award honors those whose work has led to unexpected findings or outcomes that resulted in positive changes to the science or health-care communities.
  • The Compassionate: This award honors those whose work is marked by boundless empathy, understanding, and caring within health care or science.
  • The Dedicated: This award recognizes those who have devoted their careers to inspiring the next generation of scientists and health-care providers. 
  • The Pathfinders: This award honors those who have graduated or completed training within the last 10 years (2009 – 2019). These individuals are relentless in their pursuit of new ideas that push the boundaries of science and health care.

See the 15 winners of the 2020 UCSF Campaign Alumni Awards.

About the Nomination Process 

Nominations should be no more than 250 words in length (up to 2,500 characters). All UCSF alumni, including former residents/fellows and postdocs, are eligible. Supporting links are welcome (e.g. news articles, online profiles, or quotes) but not required. Nominators may submit multiple nominations (and may nominate themselves) and will remain anonymous.

Nominations for the 2020 awards cycle will be open from September 1 to November 1. 

About the Selection Process 

Winners will be selected by a committee who will consider alumni diversity in every sense, including school and degree, specialty, background, age, gender, ethnicity, sexual orientation, religion, and more.

2019 - 2020 Selection Committee
Hibret Hailu Benjamin, DDS ’02
Brian Feng, PhD ’07
Jane Hirsch, RN, MS ’75
Shawn Houghtaling, PharmD ’03
Peter Koshland, PharmD ’00
Judith Lamberti, MD ’78 (Co-Chair)
Oriana Biela Lieu, RDH ’04
Lorraine Massa, MD ’82
Mark Richman, MD ’97
Biana Roykh, DDS ’06
Denise Scholz, RN, MS ’06
Betty Smoot, PT ’83, DPTSc ’09, MAS ’15
Carla Washington, PhD ’95
Wilma Wong, PharmD ’73
Elizabeth Watkins, PhD, Vice Chancellor, Student Academic Affairs, and Dean, Graduate Division (Co-Chair)

Nominate a UCSF alum for a UCSF Campaign Alumni Award!
Get started