Together they organize events and provide direction and oversight for the UCSF Pharmacy Alumni Association (PAA). Their shared desire to support the School of Pharmacy and its community unites them.

Nomination Process

The Board of Governors elects a minimum of two new members per year. The nomination period typically opens in early February, and selections are made in advance of the PAA’s final annual meeting in late spring.
The Nominations Committee, which is chaired by the past president and includes the president and president-elect, considers all nominees and selects the final candidates for the approval of the rest of the board.

Any member of the Alumni Association may nominate a fellow alumnus for the Board of Governors. Self-nominations are also accepted. There is no formal application form and there are no formal requirements. However, successful candidates typically include a letter of interest, CV, and an endorsement or letter of support from a fellow alumnus.

2020 – 2021 Board

Greg Smith, PharmD ’92

Mahtab Jafari, PharmD ’94

Immediate Past President  
Shawn Houghtaling, PharmD ’03

Wendy Sui, PharmD ’10

Stewart Akahoshi, PharmD ’83

Board Members
Kirsten Balano, PharmD ’91
Sharya Bourdet, PharmD ’00
Matthew Bryant, PharmD ’02
Virginia Chu, PharmD ’98
Alan Chuang, PharmD ’13
Robert Day, BS ’58, PharmD (emeritus)
John Flaherty, PharmD ’83, Resident Alum
Dan Furtado, PharmD ’69
Lisa Ghotbi, PharmD ’91
Marilyn Hedges Stebbins, PharmD ’88
Colleen Higgs, PharmD ’82
Donald Kishi, PharmD ’68 (emeritus)
Brian Komoto, PharmD ’81
Peter Koshland, PharmD ’00
Maria Lopez, PharmD ’01
Adara Louis, PharmD ’04
Krystal Pong Dahl, PharmD ’11
Maria Rivas, PharmD ’14
Lucy Saldana, PharmD ’84
Kethen So, PharmD ’95
Wilma Wong, PharmD ’73 (emerita)

Past PAA Board Members 

Dennis Adair ’64, Teresa Allard ’91, Vince Angell ’52*, Steve Bacon ’87, Steve Barriere ’73, Azah Borham ’92, Maureen Boro ’86, Bret Brodowy ’83, Lee Bufalini ’80, Gary Cartolano ’90,  Donna Chin Dare ’84, Robert Coleman ’69, Timothy Cutler ’00, Betty Dong, PharmD ’72, Katherine Eakle (Ramos) ’01, Dave Fong ’75, Michael Franchetti ’63, Wayzel Fuller ’71, Robert Gibson ’54, Stuart Heard ’72, Toby Herfindal ’65, Joseph Hirschmann ’65, Derek Huang ’04, Nancy Ichiuji ’83, Barbara Jeter ’72, Martin Iyoya ’83, Luther Johnson ’74, Terry Kennedy ’65, Nelson Kobayashi ’63, Nancy Ryti Korman ’69, Sharon Kotabe ’66, James Knoben ’71, Peter Kwok, PharmD ’78, Gary Laird ’91, Lily Lee ’77, Bob Levin, PharmD ’64, Alice Lo ’90, Alison Lum ’02, Fred Mayer ’54, Bob Miller ’64, Ed Muramoto ’83, Ron Nagata ’68, Christopher Oliva ’90, William Peterson ’52, Larry Pinson ’73, Cooky Quandt ’72, Barbara Saito ’76, Ken Schell ’84, Nathan Singer ’10, John Skhal ’71, Barry Smith ’64*, Deanna Sosnowchik ’11, Denise Takahashi ’91, Iris Tam ’91, Dianne Tobias ‘71, Mimosa Tran ‘04, Geraldine Vayson ’74, Virginia White ’81, Joanne Yasuda ’94, Glenn Yokoyama, Sharon Youmans ’85, John S. Young ’54, Russ Zakarian ’76

Interested in serving on the Board of Governors or getting more involved with PAA activities?
Get in touch